Board Officers & Trustees

Our board officers and trustees are members of the Greater New Haven community and beyond who understand and support the mission of the Connecticut Mental Health Center and the core purpose of the CMHC Foundation.  They give their time, financial support, and community outreach in support of CMHC and the CMHC Foundation; and they demonstrate leadership and advocacy for excellence in care, research, and education, to build healthy lives and communities.

You may inquire about service on the board by contacting our office or any one of our board members listed below.


David Tate, PhD, President, (Hamden, CT) psychologist & consultant, private practice

Rebecca Allen, MSW, Vice President, (New Haven, CT) Melville Charitable Trust

Herbert Hardy Jr., Treasurer, (New Haven, CTVenman & Co., L.L.C.

Kristi Lockhart, PhD, Secretary, (Guilford, CT) Yale University


Allan Atherton (New Haven, CT) Retired

Esperanza Diaz, MD, (Guilford, CT) Yale School of Medicine/CMHC

Lynne Stapleton Farrell, PhD, JD, (Huntington, CT) Farrell, Leslie & Grochowski

Daniel Koenigsberg, MD, (Woodbridge, CT) Community Volunteer

Chris-Phillip Onofrio (West Haven, CT) Langan Engineering

Raymond Sanchez, Jr., MD, (Princeton, NJ) Otsuka Pharmaceuticals

John Spalding, MTS, MS, NC, (Guilford, CT) Globe Pequot Press


Miriam C. Niederman (Bethany, CT) Community Volunteer

Selby C. Jacobs, MD, MPH, (Branford, CT) Yale School of Medicine/CMHC, retired

Ex Officio

Michael J. Sernyak, MD, (Branford, CT) CEO CMHC

Robert Cole, MHSA(Hamden, CT) COO CMHC